Val Whyte Bursary Awards

The Val Whyte Bursary was instituted in 1990 and, since then, has been awarded each year to a promising young dancer. Finalists are selected from an open audition.

The adjudication panels have always been composed of men and women representing the finest teachers and professional dancers in Southern Africa and the credibility of these adjudicators has always been impeccable.

The Bursary winner receives a cash award for five years to assist with ballet tuition.

All finalists receive a year’s tuition at the Joburg Ballet Academy from the day they are chosen. Finalists are privileged to receive teaching of the highest quality from members of the Joburg Ballet Company.

A number of the winners and finalists from years past have gone on to make promising careers as professional dancers and teachers.
Among them are: Amanda Kaye & Bafana Matea – Alvin Ailey Company in New York and have continued dancing in the USA and UK; Tammy Higgins – Hungarian National Ballet company in Budapest; Kathleen Videira – Danish Ballet; Olivia Parfitt – Toronto Ballet, Joburg Ballet, Cape Dance Company.

Well-known names from the Joburg Ballet Company who have been winners and finalists are: Lauren Summerley, Shana Dewey, Savannah Ireland, Veronica Louw, Alice le Roux, Cristina Nakos, Cassidy Reis. Several of the winners and finalists are presently in the Joburg Ballet Academy.

The Gala performance this year will be a programme showing the 2022 finalists as well as items by the Joburg Ballet.

Performance dates and times:
Saturday, 30 April
Ticket Price: R200

Starting time 16:00

Dress Code: Smart Casual / Formal

Ticket sales for the performance are NOT OPEN as yet. More details to follow.